Heart of A Soldier

The shells of bullet
Whispering by my ear
Calling me by name
Wanting to strap on to my head
Holding my helmet tight
I yell, I scream with fright
Instead I pull my own trigger
Trying to survive
But to death that wants to hug me
I keep on saying 
NOT TODAY!
NOT TODAY!

Friends and Foes 
Falling everywhere
Here and there
I am graveled 
With smoke everywhere
All I can see is the black snow
Showering on our heads
The only way to find our way
Is to follow the sounds
Of battle in dismay
But to death that wants to hug me
I keep on saying 
NOT TODAY!
NOT TODAY!

I have families
Loved ones 
Waiting for me
On the door 
Praying for me
Candles lit on their heart
My home wanting me back
Children expecting me 
To come sing them a lullaby
But to death that wants to hug me
I keep on saying………

I crawl
My hands feeling numb
Timid heart pounding slower and slower
The shell of the bullet
Rumbling by
I can see the pores
I can feel it inside
Friends and Foes
Everyone beside
To death that wants to hug me
I whisper a lullaby
To the soil I kiss
One last goodbye

Leave a Reply

